Now that I am 30…

A nostalgic look back at the childhood of a small English kid.

  • Post Categories

  • Pages

  • Chris’s Twitter Feed

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Chris's Photos

    Channy after her crash







    Hokumon Dojo - Gateway to the North

    More Photos
  • Archives

Our Trip to New York

Posted by iwata33 on Tuesday 11 March 2008


Originally uploaded by Chris Haythornthwaite

I may have mentioned this in previous posts, I may not, but I am a college lecturer at Runshaw College in Leyland, Lancashire and I teach Media Studies. Last wednesday we took a group of 38 students to New York for three days. I have included one of the photos from the trip here, you can see the rest of the photos at the following address.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/chrishaythornthwaite/

What, (you may be thinking), does this have to do with my childhood and growing up, well I shall tell you. Ever since I can remember I have always wanted to visit America as many of us probably have. The kids I teach these days seemed to have been all around the world, but it is only in my thirtieth year, (this year 2008) have I had the chance to fulfill this childhood dream.

As I had been told it is like visiting a film set, we went to all the obvious places, the Empire State Building, The Statue of Liberty, Grand Central Station, The Dakota Building, The Museam of TV and Radio (in Queens) and of course Times Square.

The students we took were fantastic, mature and responsible and I managed to pick up some great pressies for my finacee and family, as well as some great pictures. My favourite part of the trip had to be those times where I was wandering around New York on my own, catching the subway and going into the local 24 hour deli to get some breakfast and a cup of gorgeous French roast coffee. Oh and New Yorkers are very polite and really friendly.

I would love to go back, especially without having the responsibility of 38 teenagers, but the expense and a wedding to save up for will probably stop me from doing that for now. I will have to make do with watching all those great films that feature New York, like Ghostbusters, I am Legend, Cloverfield, Gangs of New York etc.

Leave a Reply

 
